The Academic Board (AB) oversees the development and quality assurance of higher education courses at Academies Australasia Polytechnic (AAPoly). Experienced academics and professionals who possess academic, discipline-based expertise, academic management and professional experience sit on our Academic Board. They provide independent oversight to promote the academic quality of our programs, facilitate governance of academic processes and advise the Board of Directors (BOD) on the future strategic development of the educational activities of AAPoly.
The following are main functions of the AB:
  • to oversee academic integrity and the pursuit of free intellectual enquiry;
  • to oversee the development and review of existing and new Higher Education courses and programs;
  • to be responsible for the maintenance of the quality of teaching and learning;
  • to recommend to the BOD the granting of awards to qualified Higher Education students;
  • to be responsible for the development, application and review of academic policies;
  • to be responsible for the formulation, implementation and review of academic and educational plans;
  • to minimise, mitigate and manage academic risk; and
  • to ensure academic activities are consistent with best practice, are benchmarked (externally and internally) and are compliant with regulatory standards including the Higher Education Standards Framework and other relevant legislations.

Academic Board Charter
Professor Gary O'Donovan (Chair)
PhD, Victoria University; GradDip (Commercial Data Processing), Footscray Institute of Technology; GradDipEd, Western Australian Institute of Technology; BBus (Acc), Footscray Institute of Technology

Academic Lead – Accreditation at the University of Tasmania (UTAS). During his time at UTAS he has held a number of senior positions including DVC (International), PVC (Students and Engagement), PVC (Global Engagement), Executive Dean (Tasmanian School of Business and Economics), and Professor of Accounting and Corporate Governance. Professor O’Donovan has been a member of the AAPoly Academic Board since 2017.
Dr Sreekanth (Sunny) Vinnakota – Associate Dean, Education
Doctor of Philosophy (Internet & Digital Marketing), Teacher’s University, India; MBA (Change Mgt & Strategic Mgt), MBus (Hosp), MBus (Marketing Mgt), Victoria University; Master of Arts (Psychology), Teacher’s University, India; Master of Arts (Tourism Management), Kakatiya University, India; Certified Practising Marketer (CPM), Certified Project Management Practitioner(PRINCE2®).

Extensive lecturing experience covering a range of subjects, including Marketing Management, Organisational Behaviour, Leadership, International Business, and Tourism and Hospitality Management at University Sunshine Coast, Charles Darwin University, Holmesglen Higher Education, RMIT and Federation University Australia, among others. Previously served as Change Management Consultant and Analyst for Public Transport Victoria, and Training Manager and Assistant Human Resource Development Manager for the Westin, Melbourne. Areas of research include digital & social media marketing, sustainable tourism, innovative entrepreneurship in the hospitality industry, and perspectives of technologies in changing the face of Higher Education.
Bob O’Shea (External)
BBus, GDBA & MBA, Swinburne University & University of Ballarat

Associate Professor, Federation University Australia, previously served as Executive Dean of the Faculty of Business (Federation Business School) and lecturer in Strategic Marketing for MBA programs in both Australia and China. He has held senior roles in organisation and management development for large organisations in the Telecommunications, Oil and Gas, Tourism, and Water Industries. He was the CEO of a self-developed and managed multi-award winning resort and hospitality enterprise. Areas of specialisation include the use of Action Learning Groups to develop leaders and as the foundation for strategic change in medium to large organisations and communities; designing and facilitating large group processes to achieve strategic outcomes using ‘future search’ and ‘scenario planning’ workshops. Recent clients include BHP, National Australia Bank, BP (Exploration), National Mutual (AXA), Catholic Education Office, the Vic Govt Department of State and Regional Development ( including Industry Vic and the Office of Manufacturing), The City of Ballarat, Gekko Systems (mining equipment manufacturing) and SEM Fire & Rescue (vehicle manufacturing).
John G. Adnams OAM – non-voting cross member from the Board of Directors
BCom, University of Melbourne; AAIB, Associate of the Australian Institute of Bankers

Four decades of experience in the banking industry. Served in senior positions with the Commercial Bank of Australia Limited. Company Director and consultant of Westpac Banking Corporation. President of Small Business Mentoring Service with extensive involvement in business mentoring and training. In 2013, received Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) for service to business and commerce, and to the community.
Alumni Representative
Nominated annually from Academies Australasia Polytechnic graduates.

The Academic Board established the following committees to oversee the implementation of Academic Governance Policies, Processes and Strategies.

The Higher Education Courses Committee oversees the development of new programs and the review and improvement of existing programs to ensure all courses and programs at Academies Australasia Polytechnic are of a consistently high quality. In addition the Higher Education Courses Committee ensures that the graduate outcomes of these programs are aligned with Academies Australasia Polytechnic’s (AAPoly) Graduate Attributes, also having regard to external regulation requirements. Membership of the Committee is drawn from internal and external sources.

Terms of Reference
The Higher Education Quality Committee monitors and ensures that the structures and the delivery of programs accord with appropriate regulatory standards and align with AAPoly’s quality assurance principles, policies and the expectations of the Higher Education Standards Framework. The committee also ensures teaching practitioners, scholarly activities and learning experiences are of a consistently high quality and contribute to an optimum environment for higher education teaching and learning. Membership of the Committee is drawn from internal and external sources.

Terms of Reference